IFIS&IZ al-Ghazzali Academy  al-Farīda

IFIS&IZ al-Ghazzali Academy continues fourth academic year with the book al-Farīda

The IFIS&IZ al-Ghazzali Academy and the sponsor KUDEM are pleased to announce that the students have started with the book al-Farīda. The students of the ‘Classical-Islamic Madrasa Studies from an Academic Perspective in the European Context’ are now in the second semester of the fourth academic year pursuing their studies with the same great passion and determination as on day one.

The sources provide little information about Abū al-Qāsim as-Samarqandī (d. after 888/1483) who is the author of the book al-Farīda, or also known as ar-Risāla as-Samarqandiyya. al-Farīda is an essential book of Arabic Rhetoric (balāgha) and deals with one of its branches the Arabic eloquence in speech (ʿilm al-bayān). as-Samarqandī’s work includes the arts of articulation, the methods, and its rules.

The book al-Farīda is a concise text and gives insights about the crucial topics of the Arabic eloquence in speech and the art of metaphor (istiʿāra) from various perspectives. The book became an indispensable source in the curriculum of the traditional madrasa education. Abū al-Qāsim as-Samarqandī critical reflects the work of the previous scholars in the sciences of metaphor as too complicated and too detail-oriented. The book al-Farīda is a result of as-Samarqandī’s critique and a reference in its branch, including the essential knowledge of metaphor. More than 30 commentaries (sharḥ) have been composed about al-Farīda, of which some has been subjected to further glosses (ḥāshiya). The book is grouped into three chapters, called “ʿiqd” which means “necklace”, which contains “farīda” meaning “diamond” dealing with fifteen topics of the arts of metaphor.

We pray to Allāh the All-Knowing, to help us grasp the subtleties within this book, and we ask Him to aid us to understand the Qur’ān and the Sunnah correctly. Āmīn!

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

IFIS&IZ Gazzali Akademie el-Farida

IFIS&IZ al-Ġazzālī-Akademie führt das vierte akademische Jahr mit dem Buch al-Farīda fort

Die Studierenden der IFIS&IZ al-Ġazzālī-Akademie haben mit dem Buch al-Farīda begonnen. Die IFIS&IZ al-Ġazzālī-Akademie wird durch das KUDEM gefördert und befindet sich im zweiten Semester des vierten Studienjahres des klassisch-islamischen Madrasa-Studiums aus einer akademischen Perspektive im europäischen Kontext.

Das berühmte al-Farīda, auch unter dem Namen ar-Risālat as-samarqandiyya bekannt, stammt aus der Feder des Abū l-Qāsim as-Samarqandī (gest. nach 888/ 1483), über dessen Leben die Quellen leider keinerlei Auskunft geben. al-Farīda hat die Wissenschaft der Redeklarheit(ʿilm al-bayān)zum Thema, die sich mit den Prinzipien und Regeln der Wiedergabe eines Aussagegehalts in verschiedenen Graden der Deutlichkeit befasst und einen Teilaspekt der klassischen arabischen Rhetorik(balāġa) darstellt.

Schwerpunkt der Darstellungen as-Samarqandī’s ist dabei die istiʿāra, also die Kunst der metaphorischen Äußerungen, ein Hauptthema der Bayān-Wissenschaft, deren bisherige wissenschaftliche Erörterung er aber als zu detailverliebt und daher zu schwer verständlich kritisiert. Mit diesem Kompendium präsentiert uns as-Samarqandī nunmehr eine Darstellung, die sich auf die essentiellen Inhalte dieser Wissenschaft konzentriert. In drei Hauptkapiteln behandelt das Buch die verschiedenen Facetten der Metapher (istiʿāra) in insgesamt 15 Abschnitten. Hierbei werden die Hauptkapitel als „ʿiqd“ (zu Dt. Halskette) und die einzelnen Abschnitte als „farīda“ (zu Dt. Edelstein) benannt. Im Bereich der literarischen Künste ist es ein unverzichtbares Grundlagenwerk im Madrasa-Lehrplan, über das ca. 30 wissenschaftlich relevante Kommentare verfasst wurden, die teilweise auch Gegenstand von Kommentarliteratur geworden sind.

Wir beten zu Gott, dem Erhabenen, dass Er durch das Studium dieses Werkes ein authentisches Verständnis von Koran und Sunna ermögliche.

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email